LUMBERJACK – SOME EXPERIENCE REQUIRED

i’m a tough guy

with nothing but a cement foundation.

it’s kinda like

the back of my book.

there is no wall

and no roof.

all you can find

are my individual poems

page after page

without a binder.

when it’s winter,

you know it’s cold

in north east pa,

and i’m vulnerable

to the conditions.

when spring time comes,

it’s re-incarnating time again

to add more layers in life

just like I am right now

to show growth in the word.

but when summertime hits,

the sun keeps me warm,

but never a smile

to coincide true happiness.

as fall approaches,

I keep shedding words,

and the winds,

they ruffle my pages

when I lay new poems down on the others.

it makes me wonder

how mother nature

is so involved in my life.

it’s a spiritual place

no doubt about it.

I forgot to tell you

that I pull off leaves

that are so green

and so smooth

to the feel it can mimic

the poems that I write.

this tree from the birth

of its leaves

is now bare and it’s not even winter.

I’ve had so much to say.

the poems need a front cover

and maybe it’s just flat out time

that the tree needs to be cut down

and sent to the mill,

after all these poems

are an all get out

in the weather related conditions

to give this a great looking cover.

Leave a Reply

