WHAT ONE CAN MUSTER UP BEING A SELFIE

i’ve got all these extra layers on,
of which a carhartt coat
is the outside layer.
it doesn’t mean much to me
as to the outside,
because it simply hasn’t done anythin
for me on the outside.
it’s a hard workin
that brings absolutely nothin.
i still remember
a friend of mine tellin me,
“spice up what ya actually do for a livin
when around the women.”
i knew he was tellin me,
what i did for a livin
didn’t ADD UP too much.
so i told the women
what i actually did for a livin,
and it certainly didn’t ADD UP too much.
this is why i enjoy
comin to this work zone,
where i can at least say,
“this is my bridgehead, n if i put a picture
of myself underneath this poem, it might make a difference”.

Leave a Reply

